Engine, box and diff options?

PostPost by: Joncyclet » Mon Sep 09, 2024 10:53 am

Hello folks, im a newbie here and have just collected a lovely (well lovely project) +2. It’s my first Lotus so very much looking forward to a slowish burn project and trying to avoid the standard acronym!
I’m guessing this question has been asked many times but I couldn’t find that much and some of the posts were a bit old so wondering if much has changed?
I’d love a Lotus engine but also looking for price/reliability/cost of running/ease of use balance.
I’m happy to make and modify stuff over being original.
My car currently has no engine box or diff and the crossmember has been modified previously for a Zetec. I’ve seen various Spyder info on th engine side.
IMG_1950.jpeg and
So there’s at least an obvious answer on the engine but interested in gearbox (mt75?) and diff options.
Equally I have a mk2 MX5 that I have some history with so the idea of using parts is attractive including the parts mentioned but plus some others (seats, electrics).
My car currently has no brakes so options on those also interested to hear on.
Last question (for now!) is wondering about any upcoming events in late October/November time as I’d love to come and see some cars in the flesh.
I’ll add pictures if I can work out how to do that.
Lots of questions and appreciation in advance
Jon
Joncyclet
New-tral

PostPost by: jimcast » Tue Sep 10, 2024 8:16 am

Depends on whether you want a nice and original specification Lotus to be admired or a non original modified custom/hotrod. Sure any Lotus can be made to go faster/better but then is it a true Lotus. For me original is best!
Discuss!
jimcast
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: 512BB » Tue Sep 10, 2024 9:33 am

' For me original is best!'

I could not have put it any better myself Jim.