ELAN PLUS 2S130 Restoration, Before and After

PostPost by: mjbeanie » Thu Nov 02, 2023 3:30 am

Lotus on Uhaul day 1.JPG and
Hello fellow Lotus enthusiasts.

I have posted many technical inquiries lately. For this post, I just thought it might be fun to put up the before and after of my 71 Plus 2S130 project, otherwise known as the Lotus Elan "Ebay Potluck Special", that I've been sorting for over a year..

The backstory: This was a disassembled, abandoned, restoration project, AS-IS, posted as a "Buy it Now" auction on Ebay back in February 2019. I didn't know if it would ever run, what condition the mechanicals were in, if the engine would even rotate, what was beyond repair, or what bits were present- in the parts boxes that came with the car. I had no idea as to the chassis condition either. There was no time to ask questions. I had just 6 photos to draw from and make my decision. I am an engineer, and the only "data" I had was "it looked pretty". Seemed reasonable to me. The body looked nice, the red paint looked good, and I loved the design. (the car was originally white.) I had not seen this model ever before. The body shape got to me but the rest was a complete mess. The interior was a miserable empty shell. The wiring was just hanging disconnected, and fragmented, like spaghetti. The engine bay had been riffled thru, with lots of bits missing in the auction photos. But an engine was generally present, along with a transmission that may/may not work properly. The only feature that worked on the car was inertia. (It would roll if you pushed it.) I kept wondering if buying a inoperative project car, sight unseen, was a cleverly conceived decision.