What should be expected when driving a 69' Elan+2

PostPost by: Elan+2Novice » Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:32 pm

As my handle suggests I'm a novice to the Elan+2, inherited the car....and love it....but have only driven American cars...so don't know what to expect. Driving Behavior....usually starts when cold with the choke, but resists starting when it has been driven for 30 minutes...someone suggested I am drowning the carbs? Also, after warm and been driven for 30+ minutes, idles nicely for about 2 minutes, then the engines dies....is this normal? This car hates heavy traffic, have to constantly rev the engine, or will stall....is this normal? Stalling and not starting leaves me feeling very vulnerable....is this normal for this car or operator error? Thanks so much for any feedback. Also, I live near Lake Tahoe so am thinking the altitude and temperature may have a significant effect on performance? ---- Cheers, Linda
Elan+2Novice
New-tral

PostPost by: types26/36 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:47 pm

Linda,
The cars can be a bit temperamental but should not be cutting out, I lived in S.Africa for many years at an altitude of almost 6000 feet, the alitude and heat will effect the performance but the car should run O.K. I would suggest you take it to a shop who have experience with these cars ( or experience with the carbs.....I think you will have Stromburgs) for a check and tune up.
The car is probably fitted with emission controls and and these can give problems, an experienced shop should be able to sort it out for you.
Brian
64 S2 Roadster
72 Sprint FHC
types26/36
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Jason1 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:23 pm

Ohh, school boy error Linda :o You used the choke?

I read somewhere that the choke on a +2 should only be used when the temp is below -6. I just give the throttle two pumps before I start it and then as it starts rev it to 1500 RPM for about 10 seconds and it is ready to drive.

Try this next time :)