The Utterly Smooth & Charming David Niven

PostPost by: trw99 » Wed Jan 03, 2024 11:02 am

David Niven, a marvelous English gentleman and actor, owned a +2. Or at least he certainly used one in a film. Lotus called it 'his'.

Niven also wrote a couple of extremely humourous autobiographies, one of which was required reading when I was an officer cadet at RMA Sandhurst!

Here he is with 'his' car, as reported in Lotus News at the time. The car was silver, rather like Graham Hill's I suppose. It is currently listed by DVLA as being SORN'd, having been first registered on 15 Sep 1969 as VAH 853H, a Norfolk number. Last V5 change was in January 2012, no export marker.

Anyone know of this car, by any chance?

Tim
Attachments
David Niven.jpg and
trw99
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: mark030358 » Thu Jan 04, 2024 9:22 am

Another quality photo…
mark030358
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: pharriso » Thu Jan 04, 2024 2:32 pm

Anyone know the name of the film? Might be interesting to watch...
Phil Harrison
1972 Elan Sprint 0260K
pharriso
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: trw99 » Thu Jan 04, 2024 3:19 pm

Phil, I have just researched that. It was 'The Statue', a comedy.

Here are two stills from the film.

Tim

PS I had forgotten until I re-read his bio online that he actually lived in Switzerland from 1960, so it is highly unlikely that the +2 was his personal car. However, it still has a connection to him. It was probably on loan to the film company from the Lotus PR department, witness the Norwich registration.
Attachments
David Niven in The Statue b.jpg and
David Niven in The Statue a.jpg and
Last edited by trw99 on Fri Jan 05, 2024 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
trw99
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Andy8421 » Thu Jan 04, 2024 5:10 pm

Phil,

Tim beat me to it. There is this website that lists the films cars appeared in: