Wedding Cars?

PostPost by: matt4478 » Thu May 07, 2009 8:39 pm

Hi everyone! If I've posted this in the wrong forum then please say and I'll either move it or delete it straight away! :)

My fiancee and I both love the looks and style of the Elan and we think it'd make a fantastic, photogenic Wedding car. Our Wedding is in July 2010 so we've got plenty of time to arrange things, but we're after a little advice and thought someone here might be able to offer some help?

We're considering buying one in need of some TLC, restoring it ready for the day then selling it afterwards to release the cash we invested. I appreciate this isn't for the fainthearted, but I built an old mini about 10 years ago from body panels which I welded together myself and also built the engine from parts, so I've got some mechanical knowledge and I'm quite thorough and determined, so we know it's an option - but one which will take a lot of time and we'll probably not want to sell it afterwards!

The other option is renting one for the day/weekend. Is anyone aware of any contacts for things like this? I used to own both an Elise and an Exige for 4 years until they became thoroughly impractical, so whilst I love cars, my racing days are behind me and I've built a car and engine before so I have a great deal of mechanical sympathy, so the car would be well and truly pampered, but I don't know who to talk to about it? I found this owners forum and it seems like the best place to ask about things like this?

We're based in Derbyshire and the Church and Reception venue are about 10 miles away. If anyone has any suggestions we'd love to hear them! :)

Thanks in advance,
Matt
matt4478
New-tral

PostPost by: jimj » Thu May 07, 2009 10:01 pm

To restore a car then sell it would be a very expensive proposition. We also live in Derbyshire, whereabouts are you?
Jim
jimj
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: matt4478 » Fri May 08, 2009 7:28 am

Hi Jim!