Recommendations on fender covers

PostPost by: collins_dan » Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:36 pm

Since I will be needing to pull the head to replace the gasket and the car is now painted, I am thinking I should invest in some fender covers. Given the unique size of the Elan's engine compartment, I am sure some fit better than others. Any recommendations? Thanks, Dan
collins_dan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: collins_dan » Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:49 pm

Just a bump to get suggestions as to what people do to protect the paint while working on the engine. Thanks, Dan
collins_dan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: ericbushby » Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:02 pm

I use three old towels which have been rescued from domestic duties. But then I am not good at buying something when there is a satisfactory alternative available free.
Eric in Burnley
1967 S3SE DHC
ericbushby
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: TroonSprint » Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:35 pm

The covers I have bought in the past are all with magnetic strips so that they stay in place. That's not much good on a Lotus :(

Mike
TroonSprint
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: gjz30075 » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:12 pm

Dan, I've used a variety of covers one can get from any of the AdvancePepZone stores. If I'm on a long project, I make sure I remove them for the evening otherwise the rubber stuff underneath leaves marks.
Greg Z
45/0243K Sprint
45/7286 S3 SE DHC
gjz30075
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: collins_dan » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:28 pm

OK, thanks for the ideas. Harbor Freight has them for $9.99, so I will check them out. I think they are 3' x 2', which seems too big, but I guess I could always use sideways. Dan
collins_dan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: saildrive2001 » Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:55 pm