Tyres...

PostPost by: mark030358 » Fri Apr 05, 2024 10:01 am

Hi chaps,
Some advice required please on the new Pirelli Cinturato offered by Longtone Tyres.

I fitted my car with XAS tyres circa 2012, and yes I know they are old but are "perfect in apperance and covered only 3000 ish miles". My dilema now is do I replace them along with all the other bits needed with new XAS at a hefty cost or go for the Pirelli Cinturato CA67 at just over half the price.

I know for a fact that the XAS got rid of all my stability issues at speed back in 2012 but I have no experience of the Pirelli tyre. So it's not an out an out financial decision but one about a good tyre that looks period and above all drives well.

thanks
mark030358
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: cabc26b » Fri Apr 05, 2024 10:35 pm

I just mounted a set of the Pirelli 155/80 H rated on one of my elans - no significant mileage yet but that will be fixed in a couple of weeks as I’m planning on a 500 mile trip. So if your not in a hurry I can report back ..

PS - got them from longstone - excellent service ..
cabc26b
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: jonnyg » Sat Apr 06, 2024 4:48 pm

I was faced with a similar dilemma last year - XASs on the car when I bought it, but getting old though still legal in terms of tread, and the rubber hard. (And I know what everyone says about the tread pattern, but I always thought the asymmetric tread pattern looked a bit odd). After much deliberation I switched to the Cinturatos and haven’t been disappointed - the ride is smoother and quieter, and the handling is excellent (and the tyres just look period right). And half the price too! New tyres will always make a big difference over 10 year old tyres, but I’m very happy having made the switch.
Jonathan Greenwood
Wimborne, Dorset
jonnyg
New-tral

PostPost by: mark030358 » Sat Apr 06, 2024 9:29 pm