Stromberg Idle Surging

PostPost by: paw140 » Fri Mar 19, 2021 10:14 pm

Hi All,

I've been lurking on this forum for a while (what a great wealth of knowledge!) but this is my first post. I am very new to the Lotus Elan world. Last fall, I bought a 1969 S4 (Federal spec) from a friend who was moving to Florida. He bought it in the mid-70's and broke the timing change around 1980, at it had not been running ever since. It sat in his garage for 40 years, and about 10 years ago he started to take everything apart with aspirations of a complete restoration. But this never happened, and he offered to sell me the car. When I bought the car, he had started putting the engine back together and he had the head, oil pan, and valve cover on. Pretty much everything else was in boxes and crates, including the entire interior of the car (seats, dashboard, etc was all disassembled). So this has been quite a project for me, with a nice learning curve.