Lotus Elan

Weber DCOE vacuum port to use with manometer

PostPost by: 1963Turnerjohn » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:05 pm

Hi fellas,
Looking to confirm if the yellow circled screw on my Weber DCOE 40 is in fact plugging a vacuum source? I want to use a manometer when setting up / tuning the twin carbs and want to locate the proper port to use.

Thsnk you very much,
John
Attachments
img_5804.jpg and
1963Turnerjohn
First Gear
First Gear
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 21 Sep 2015
Location: Michigan

PostPost by: richardcox_lotus » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:24 pm

No. That's the cover for the progression holes. I don't believe Weber's prior to 151s had a vacuum take-off.

Regards
Richard
Richard
'72 Sprint
richardcox_lotus
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Location: Kent

PostPost by: 1963Turnerjohn » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:59 pm

Thxs for the note, if anyone can recommend a vac source on a DCOE 40 to allow use of a manometer I'm all ears.
I prefer not to drill/tap the inlet manifold.

Thxs
John
1963Turnerjohn
First Gear
First Gear
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 21 Sep 2015
Location: Michigan

PostPost by: billwill » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:25 am

Dellortos have the vacuum manometer aperture, but I don't think Webers do.
Bill Williams

36/6725 S3 Coupe OGU108E Yellow over Black.
billwill
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Location: London UK

PostPost by: rgh0 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:51 am

I have seen people tap the inlet tract or the flanges to set up manometers on each. Personally i find just measuring the flow through each throat at idle is sufficient to get the balance OK.

cheers
Rohan
User avatar
rgh0
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 7509
Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Total Online:

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests