Fuel problem (probably)

PostPost by: sparkey » Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:34 pm

Hello, It's my first time on here and you all seem very knowledgble so maybe you can help me with a problem on my +2s which I have been unable to solve for months !

The car starts and runs very well, pulling cleanly and with full power, but only for between 7 and 10 miles and then it starts to die, as if it's running out of petrol. It then usually stops altogether. If I then leave it for 20 or 30 minutes or so it may (or may not) start again and take me a few more miles.

It feels like a fuel starvation problem.

So far I have replaced the fuel pump with a new one (the old one still seemed to work, but had some crud in it so I changed it anyway). This caused the carbs (Webers) to flood, so I re-conned the webers. I have now re-tuned the car and again it is now running beautifully, but only for about 7 miles. The distance that it runs is independant of the heat in the engine. If i get it fully warmed upbefore I go it still works for about 7 miles.

I've checked inside the fuel tank for rust/dirt and it's spotless. Ive checked the tank breathers which are both clear.

The ignition system seems fine, as I'm getting good sparks, and it's fitted with a luminition system which has always been really reliable.

The car wasn't used much last year, but I want to use it more this year so I need to get it reliable.

Any advice greatfully recieved.
sparkey
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: type26owner » Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:42 pm

When it happens again just coast over to a stop and take an inspection cover off of one Weber. Remove an emulsion tube and look to see there's fuel in the well. Do this also when it's running okay observe where the height of the fuel level is suppose to be before it fuel starves so you'll know if it's lower or not. :wink:
type26owner
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: john.p.clegg » Sat Jan 14, 2006 6:41 pm