Disappointing Dyno results

PostPost by: ROADRUNNER » Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:08 pm

]I finally got an opportunity to have my S2 dynoed this week, and I'm interested to hear views on the results.

Given the engine spec, I'm disappointed !

Probably best to firstly summarise the engine. It was built by Neil Myers, and has probably done not much more than 5,000 miles since.

Cosworth steel crankshaft, L14 cams, gas-flowed ports / head, big valves, TTR fast-road exhaust and manifold.

The result of all this ? A lowly 82bhp at the wheels at 6500 rpm (approx 120 at the flywheel). Not much more than my standard S3 SE produced at the same dyno.

Very much looking forward to hearing your thoughts.I'll try and answer your questions to the best of my ability (based mainly on the spec sheet provided by Neil at the time) but I'm afraid I'm not very technical.

The attached pic shows both cars compared.

[attachment=0]Resized_20200303_142422.jpg[/attachment
Attachments
Resized_20200303_142422.jpg and
ROADRUNNER
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: nmauduit » Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:18 pm

Here's my 2c to get the ball rolling, no doubt more in depths views will be expressed later.