My Vegantune is Vaguely Tuned!

PostPost by: RichardS » Fri Sep 25, 2009 8:51 pm

Having done a couple of hundred miles since getting my Sprint back on the road I went for a rolling road tune up yesterday which was interesting. I had a bit of luck as on googling for a rolling road I found one within a couple of miles of home. They mainly tune Subarus [400 to 500 bhp!] but seemed quite familiar with Webers and Twincams - there was a TR6 sitting beside the rolling road.

I spent a happy couple of hours watching as the carbs were balanced and twiddled with. He set the timing at 8 deg static which advanced to 26 deg. The original spec for the engine [more of this below] was 18 deg static but the tuning guy said that if it was set to this advance with modern unleaded then the engine would self destruct! I am no expert on these matters but took his word for it.

Back in the 1980s I had the engine rebuilt by Vegantune to their G3 spec. The spec included Vegantune cams, blueprinted engine etc and a stated 150bhp. I was a little disappointed with what the rolling road showed yesterday - 105bhp at the flywheel and 82bhp at the wheels - the 150bhp seems to have evaporated over the years!! The engine has only done a few thousand miles since the rebuild.

Having said that a quick blast after the tune up and the engine is running very nicely and probably plenty powerful enough for me these day!

I found the bill for the last rolling road tune up in 1985 - this showed "120bhp at 70mph" and cost me ?25. The one yesterday cost ?85 which I thought pretty reasonable. The tuning guy told me the bhp readings back in the 1980s were notoriously inaccurate and involved a lot of guesswork.

I did read somewhere on the forum that Vegantune were also known as Vaguely Tuned so I wonder what exactly is inside my Twin Cam. Will perhaps investigate one day but at the moment am having too much fun driving!

Richard
Lotus Elan Sprint FHC 1973
RichardS
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear