Rear main seal leak

PostPost by: miked » Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:53 am

I have been working on the suspension and have had the car jacked up high at the front. I have an oil leak from the rear of the engine that must be from the rear main seal. I am told that a seal will not stand static head of oil and this will happen. Car has covered 12k miles since build with no problems and I centred the cover to within 2 thou when I put the engine together.

I did previously have a small leak/drip which I now think was comming from the breather pipe rubber grommet. This has gone hard with the heat.

Does this hang together? Perhaps a dumb question but I am not a mechanic.

Mike
miked
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: kenny » Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:10 am

If the car was jacked high at the front enabling a body of oil to rest on a seal I'd assume it could possibly be breached in a way that wouldn't happen whilst running with the car level.
The way that horrible end cork sump gasket fits it wouldn't surprise me if it were that and if you say it never leaked prior to jacking you may get away with it.

Regards,
Kenny
kenny
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: miked » Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:44 am

Kenny,

My mate also just suggested it could be the corks seal on the sump pan.

Am tempted to haul it out and hang it with the fly wheel off (at an angle) to see were it comes from. If it leaks later I am going to regret. Started taking bits off last night, ready to haul it out.

Mike
miked
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Emma-Knight » Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:24 pm

I was reading the Dave Beans catalog and what he writes about this. If it is the old sump type (big oil drain plug) it will have a rope seal at the end. A seal consiting of two half circle sections made of rope/rubber/graphite.