MASSIVE backfire....... where am I going wrong?..........

PostPost by: berni29 » Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:46 pm

Hi There

I posted last week about my suspect ignition, and that I was going to swap the whole system to see if there was an improvement.

So I have from a previous +2 a Christopher Neil new (modified) distributor (they sold them a few years back), plus modified cap (grooves made in the sides where the screws would have gone), and an optical Luminition.

Before I started playing about the car ran although badly until warm. I have put the new distributor and Lumenition on having tested the system on the kitchen table. I have made sure that No1 sparks at 10 deg before TDC and then nos 3, 4 & 2. I have seen these sparks as I turn the engine by hand with the leads off and spare plugs on the leads.

When I attempt to start the car there is no sign of life until after about 10 revolutions wherupon there is a MASSIVE backfire, which is fuel igniting in the exhaust pipe.

This is confusing the hell out of me. I have checked everything 5 times at least.

Possible clues are that I suspected arcing with the old ignition system and perhaps this has carried over even though everything including the leads is different. The rotor arm might be wrong in some way because I do not know which one came with the CN system. Swaping it for another (different but of seemingly similar reach) results in no spark at all.

Even if the rotor arm is wrong, how can I observe sparks in the correct order with the system together and on the car, but get the results that I do?

It is possible that I have the optical cutter in the "wrong" place/orientation on the distributor shaft, but again, if it sparks at TDC what can go wrong from there? I definately have the leads on in the correct order.

Suggestions please!

Many thanks.....

Berni