Coolant leak

PostPost by: IFM » Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:14 am

I am fairly new to Elan ownership. I have owned a Sprint DHC for about a year and a half. Most of that has been trouble-free....

However last weekend when I took her to the filling station I noticed a little pool of coolant under the front of the car. For some reason I didn't think it was from me and so wasn't too worried about it. I then drove the car for about twenty miles with no problems.

Yesterday I took the car out again. Drove about one mile and stopped at the shops. When I came out there was a little pool of coolant again. This time it was definitely from me.... It wasn't there before. I spent the rest of the day trying to work out where it was came from but with no success.

It seems as though it only leaks a little before it heats up. There's plenty of coolant still in the radiator and there's no evidence of overheating. The cabin heater is still working fine.

Any idea where this could be coming from? Should I be worried about this?

Thanks

Ian
IFM
New-tral

PostPost by: Emma-Knight » Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:50 am

:idea: maybe Your radiator cap "suction-mode" doesn't work any more:
when hot, the radiator pressure cap lets a small amount of coolant into the recuperation bottle - and sucks back, when engine is cold. If it is stuck, the suction phase won't work and the bottle gets filled more and more and starts leaking(it's not a pressurized expansion system as on modern cars). There are different caps: outlet only and outlet/backsuction type. Maybe You got the wrong cap (and didn't notice the leak). Or its just stuck as mentioned before. It might be possible to free the suction funktion.
So first have a look where the water comes from and if the bottle is full to top.

Anna

PS: when You stop the engine, the remaining heat rises as the radiator is no longer in an airstream so expansion of coolant
1965 S2
Emma-Knight
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: Dave-M » Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:17 am