Tc Stored Without Coolant

PostPost by: Matt7c » Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:32 pm

Hi all. I realise I've only been here a short time and am asking a lot of questions. Hopefully, I'll be able to add to the debate in future as I learn a thing or two. :rolleyes:

My twincam has been stood for 13 years without any coolant. I have no experience of this, but wondered if anybody else had encountered any problems as a result of a similar issue. I'd like to believe that this won't have caused much corrosion as its a closed system so there shouldn't have been much air in there to oxidise the components. But I can't help but worry that unseen lumps of rust will have developed, which will then break free and block up coolant runs or damage the pump. The radiator is actually water-tight but has yet to be pressure tested.

Is this anything to worry about and is there anything I should do about it?
1965 Elan S2
Matt7c
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: type26owner » Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:18 pm

Matt,
If you don't know the history of the car then don't be discouraged but the likely reason the car was sidelined originally was because the waterpump started leaking. Mine sat for this reason for 25 years in a garage with only 69k miles on the odometer after it sprang a leak. Many cars suffered that fate and if you're lucky you can find a rough jewel still intact in need of restoration. Fixing the waterpump is doable for the novice. I don't have any of the reference books everyone mentions so I can't say whether or not they are useful.

Fill it up with water only and fire up the engine. If the waterpump leaks it will be from beneath the pulley. No harm running it to do the diagnostics. Good luck!
-Keith
type26owner
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: 1964 S1 » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:52 am