Headlights

PostPost by: MyLotus » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:51 pm

I'm new at this and new at the Elan (1970 S4 with new Lotus chassis), so bear with me. The haelights do come up but they won't retract when I push back the vaccum control. I can hear hissing at the control but the headlights stay up. And they go on even if I don't activate the headlamps switch... Any explanations? Many thanks!
Alain Raymond
1970 Lotus Elan S4
www.auto-historia.ca
MyLotus
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: alexblack13 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:29 pm

Hello ?,

You have a vacuum leak at the pull switch switch. That is what you hear leaking /hissing..

The lamps are controlled by two micro switches, one on each headlamp 'pod'. When you wish to 'flash' your headlamps, one only needs to pull the vac' switch to lift the lamps. The headlamps should then flash on /off by themselves but often just light up and stay lit up until the vac' switch is pushed to off / lower and the lamps go down where they contact the micro (actually a door / courtesy light switch) and the lamps go off.

The other 'micro switch' is a safety feature to prevent your headlights from being put away 'lit'. If you forget to switch them off and lower them they can get somewhat hot and may possibly cause a fire. The micro just switches them off. So..Two micro switches. One on each 'pod'. One for flashing your lights (via a relay) and one for safety which prevents headlamp operation with pods down. OK?

With any luck your Vac' leak will be a perished rubber connector pipe and it sounds like its right by the pull switch. You can remove this easily to check it out.

Don't you have a manual?

Alex B....
Alex Black.
Now Sprintless!!
alexblack13
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: MyLotus » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:30 am

Thanks Alex. I'll check and let you know. Yes, I do have a shop manual.