Lotus Elan

New wiring loom problems

PostPost by: john.houston » Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:27 pm

Hi.All
Can I once again seek advice .My +2 is now looking like its soon to be a car again, not boxes of bits and the only thing I had left on the list was a wiring loom. I bought a full one and I was delighted when it arrived
Qu. Should a replacement one look like the original I though it would
This one will have to enter the engine bay from the drivers side this means drilling for a new grommet and instead of it being a straight length it is the shape of a U with either end feeding the lights.Could it be a federal one sent by mstake ? The colour codes match most from what I can see . No manfactures name but looks top quality
Any help and advice greatly appreciated. John.

My car 69 +2
john.houston
First Gear
First Gear
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Location: liverpool

PostPost by: alexblack13 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:54 pm

Hi John,
It does sound as if you have a L/H drive loom. You should not have to do any mods at all. Speak to your supplier.

Chances are it was made by Autosparks if it was supplied by any of the usual suppliers.

It may look different...The one I was supplied was wrapped in black pvc loom tape.

Best of luck with it mate.

Alex B.... 8)
Alex Black.
Now Sprintless!!
User avatar
alexblack13
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Location: Fife Scotland

PostPost by: summerinmaine » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:00 pm

This may be a bit besides-the-point, but unless you are seeking an OEM loom for a concours resto, you can do a great job with a wiring diagram, a bit of thought, and pinning the wires up to the wall of the garage (or the living room if you're not married :lol: ).

Jim
Jim

Temporarily Elan-less
User avatar
summerinmaine
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Location: Humboldt County, California

PostPost by: collins_dan » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:17 pm

Jim, Where did you get the right colored wire? Thanks. Dan
User avatar
collins_dan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPost by: summerinmaine » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:43 pm

collins_dan wrote:Jim, Where did you get the right colored wire? Thanks. Dan



I didn't try to follow the factory codes. I just made up my own.

I've wired up a bunch of motorcycles as well. They're a bit simpler.

I always use a new fuse block as well, as I don't like the Lucas "the wire IS the fuse" philosophy.
Jim

Temporarily Elan-less
User avatar
summerinmaine
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 702
Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Location: Humboldt County, California

PostPost by: stugilmour » Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:05 am

Dan

As you are in the State's, you could try these guys. No ordering directly on the web, but phone order with credit card works well. Ordered a few small bits from them, but not wire.

http://www.britishwiring.com/

For my loom wire I used these suppliers as preferred ease of ordering directly on the 'net:

http://www.autoelectricsupplies.co.uk

http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.eu/V ... mepage.php
Stu
1969 Plus 2 Federal LHD
User avatar
stugilmour
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1751
Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada

PostPost by: neilsjuke » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:38 am

I would make a bracket http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected] ... 202952079/ and fix to a 8x4 board and then you can fit your loom to the dash and switches and use the board with nails to get some shape with the distances to other items transferred to the board.
Neil
neilsjuke
Third Gear
Third Gear
 
Posts: 369
Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Location: Kent

Total Online:

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests