Broken billet output shaft

PostPost by: Hawksfield » Sat Jul 09, 2022 7:00 am

Hi All
Looks like I have broken a billet shaft,is this a first or has it happend to others. This shaft was fitted in 2018 when I noticed one of my original shafts was not an updated stronger one.
Any ideas on how to remove the broken part with a diff insitu. Will have to investigate further today to see if diff needs to come out. Should have left well alone.
John

+2s130 1971
Hawksfield
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: nmauduit » Sat Jul 09, 2022 8:30 am

soory to read that : if/when convenient please post photos to document the failure for future reference (also mention the circumstances : use, tires, upgraded engine etc.)...
S4SE 36/8198
nmauduit
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: elanfan1 » Sat Jul 09, 2022 9:51 am

I’m no mechanical expert but I’d have thought it would be possible to do tge job with the diff in situ. Once you remove the circlip you will need to somehow give the shaft a bit of a whack to get it out of the diff. Doubt you’ll have much room so you might have to rig up something to extend the shaft away from the diff to give you a chance. Maybe you’ll be lucky attaching a pair of molegrips and tapping on them until it pops out.

Putting a replacement back should be easy by comparison.
Steve

Silence is Golden; Duct Tape is Silver
elanfan1
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Foxie » Sat Jul 09, 2022 11:04 am

When you remove the spider end with the bearing, examine the fracture. If it is a clean break, you may be able to remove the splined stump with a strong magnet.

However, if the break is in the splined section, It will most likely break into two conical faces, with a mass of triangular bits of teeth falling into the diff oil, which will have to be removed, if they have not already damaged the diff gears. :shock:
68 Elan +2, 70 Elan +2s
Foxie
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Elan45 » Sat Jul 09, 2022 3:07 pm