S2 Body Shell

PostPost by: Alpine_Ian » Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:58 pm

The body shell on my S2 is in good shape with the exception of the steel frame work on both the right and left sides. Both lower portions are rusted away and will need repair.

My body man has not seen this yet, and since I'm not an expert with fibreglass, I thought I would turn to the forum. Has anyone fixed this sort of problem before, or should I consider a new body shell?

Are there any US suppliers for body shells? What are the typical costs, etc...

Any advice here is appriciated.
Alpine_Ian
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: ngiovas » Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:36 pm

I'm assuming you are talking about the steel rods that form a triangular frame under each of the sills. Mine has the same problem. In one of the books I have it describes replacing/repairing these bars. I don't think there is any reason they can't be replaced. It would require cutting away the layers of fiberglass that covered the bottom rod and welding in new support rods. The only thing you have to be careful of is not catching the body on fire while welding in that area.

Nick
1964 S1
ngiovas
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: bvt » Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:51 pm

The "rods" are a steel frame work running front to rear and also strengthen arround the doors... It would be hard to cut out small sections and weld in replacements as you suggest.. but I guess a new rear half could be fabricated the old half cut out and the replacement glassed in with the join somewhere in the sill section...

If you get what I mean.....
(Just an opinion)
bvt
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Alpine_Ian » Sun Mar 07, 2004 12:15 am

<!--QuoteBegin-ngiovas+Mar 6 2004, 05:36 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ngiovas @ Mar 6 2004, 05:36 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> "I'm assuming you are talking about the steel rods that form a triangular frame..." [/quote]