26R Chassis mods vs rollcage

PostPost by: el-saturn » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:58 am

good morning everybody (europe)!! .......................once upon a time i restored the entire car (81-85) and got the frame zinc coated BUT was unaware of the 26R mods, so they haven't been added H O W E V E R and my actual question: doesn't my FIA rollcage (safety devises) compensate or add this additional stiffness or rigidity, so those strips (or triangles) of x-gauge steel are in comparison useless!?!?!? the cage weighs 10fold!! :oops: - my knowledge of finite elements etc.. isn't good enough anymore --- i'm just a reg. engineer and certain stuff is "beyond me" --- there's a bunch of wizards on this sight:............................. cheers sandy, alps
el-saturn
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Frogelan » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:32 am

I'm not an engineer...

Here are a few observations on the chassis (based on careful examination of various chassis):

- if you compare a "contemporary" 26R chassis with an original chassis, the gauge of steel is thicker on the former than the latter
- there are many different points of strengthening beyond the triangles on the turrets
- a few aspects are still not fully addressed (strengthening the engine mountings for example)
- many of these subtle changes can be credited to kaizen by TTR and Gartrac.

With respect to "FIA" roll cages, their role is to protect the driver. Their secondary role of strengthening improves the rear 50% of the car...but does very little to the front.

There are also 2 distinct generations of roll cage.

The 90's TTR / Safety Devices cage (only suitable for RHD as the inner triangle would provide limited protection to a LHD driver) now faces a second generation of "stiffer" competition from more complete MSA models (Andy Robinson, Custom Cages, Kelvedon Lotus. A new model from TTR / Safety Devices is indeed rumoured...).