Jacking points

PostPost by: Paul Chapman » Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:23 pm

Hello everyone

I am new to LotusElan.net and this is my first post. I very recently purchased a 68 S3/SE and am still finding my way around it and already ready have many questions that I need help and advise with.

So here goes, firstly how do I safely jack the car up to avoid any damage to the Elan or its owner, I have no owners hand book so am unsure were to place the jack ???

Sorry for asking such a basic question but I don't want to find out the hard way !

Paul
Paul
Paul Chapman
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: jimj » Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:19 pm

The original jack was half a scissor jack (if you see what I mean) with an angled plate on the top to spread the load. It was placed under the foreward or rearward cill of the bodywork. Sounds dodgy, I know, and I normally use a trolley jack under the chassis, DEFINITELY not under the wishbones. For an emergency, say a puncture, I carry an ordinary scissor jack which I (reluctantly) place under the cill and spread the load with a boot board.
A bit Heath Robinson but on the hard shoulder of a motorway I have twice had to do this without damage nor death.
Jim
jimj
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Elanintheforest » Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:55 pm

I've always jacked Elans up by the crossmember (vacuum tank) at the front, and just inboard of the disc on the wishbone at the rear. I always use a short plank of wood to spread the load across the wishbone at the rear, and no problems in 35 years!!

Mark
Elanintheforest
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: 1964 S1 » Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:41 am

Hi Paul, welcome aboard and as you can already see your basic question has two conflicting answers from experienced Elan owners ! And I agree with both responses !
If you search the archives you'll find a ton of information on this subject.
Personally I never jack my Elans using the fiberglass unless it's an emergency.