Respray - part 2

PostPost by: surveyor » Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:33 am

Now that I'm going for a respray I've been looking very closely at the stress cracking on the bonnet of my +2 and reckon it might be better, easier - and cheaper in the long run - to replace rather than repair. A lot of cracking near the catch-pins and over the radiator cap where a previous owner had mis-fitted the radiator.

SJSportscars list bonnets at a reasonable price, has anyone any experience of the quality/fit of these?

dennis
surveyor
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: mikealdren » Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:53 pm

I've no experience of SJSportscars' panel fit but the metal fixings which are pop riveted to the inner edge affect the profile of the bonnet. You can adjust the bonnet curvature to match the profiles of the front bib and the windscreen scuttle.

I haven't done it myself yet but I probably will soon as I am replacing my original bonnet (with Stomberg bulge) with a flat bonnet. I prefer the look.

My next job is to finish the body work repairs then I'll fit the body to the chassis and then fit the bonnet. It will be fun because I'm replacing the knackered hinge bobbins so I'll have to line them up first.

regards
Mike
mikealdren
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Elanintheforest » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:54 pm

Dennis, reparing gel coat cracks is all part of having an Elan repainted...it's no big deal. The cowboys will fill them, and they will re-appear within a few months and ruin your new paintwork. To repair them properly, the crack has to be dug out with an angle grinder, then the area re-tissued to give the surface its strength again. Most cars have many cracks..they are 30 years old plus now. An expensive paintjob, like that carried out by Option 1 (used by Paul Matty) will tissue the whole car, so no cracks can be missed.