Hydraulic handbrake

PostPost by: Melodyk » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:09 pm

We've just fitted a hydraulic line-lock type handbrake to an Elan Plus 2. The original handbrake is still there and works ok. It's just awkward to lean forward to use it. The new handbrake locks the brakes on after you've come to a halt using the foot brake. So you stop as usual then flip the hydraulic brake on and you don't need to hold the car on the foot pedal anymore. The lever is quite small and is attached to the side of the centre tunnel just forward of the seat. According to the UK MOT manual a pre 1st Jan 1968 car does not need a mechanical handbrake anyway. You just need a handbrake of some sort. So a hydraulic handbrake is technically ok for early cars. Ours is Oct 1967. I've not explored that point with an MOT station yet though!
50/0060
Melodyk
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: elanfan1 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:52 am

Interesting!

I'm no mechanic but I assume line lock means you have a mechanism that holds the pressure in the brake lines once you press the brake and keeps it there once you release the pedal? I don't know if you might expect other issues from keeping the system pressurised over a long period if you were to say leave it parked for a week, surely you are putting extra wear into. System only designed to work intermittently? Will brake binding become an issue?

I believe there was some conversion that was tried I think using calipers from a Rover 3500?? Which allowed for an hydraulic handbrake.

Let us know how it works out longer term. I'm sure the mechanics here would like links to or details of how you did this.
Steve

Silence is Golden; Duct Tape is Silver
elanfan1
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Chancer » Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:55 am

I did a similar thing as an anti-theft system with my Westfield, I used a hidden mortice rack bolt to hold the brake pedal down, I could engage it with my foot and release it with the security key.