Lotus Elan

Battery cut off switch

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:32 pm

One was installed in my trunk. I can this Way avoid to discharge my battery when not using the car. :mrgreen:
Attachments
image.jpg and
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
User avatar
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Location: French Riviera...

PostPost by: elanern » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:26 pm

Can you post pictures of the wiring to and from the switch? What brand is the switch (e.g., Hella)?
Ernie
Florida, USA
User avatar
elanern
Second Gear
Second Gear
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 22 Oct 2008
Location: Florida, USA

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:01 pm

I think such cutoff switches are required on cars in competitions and are useful as an anti-theft device because the handle can be taken out in the off position.

If you were ever in a crash or fire, you possibly might have time to reach over and use it to cuttoff the battery.

Only snag with using it regularly is that your radio set is likely to forget your memorised stations.
Bill Williams

36/6725 S3 Coupe OGU108E Yellow over Black.
billwill
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 4717
Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Location: London UK

PostPost by: oldelanman » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:01 pm

I fitted a switch in exactly the same place. It's the ideal location because it's easy to reach from the driving seat in case of fire and the rear chassis tower brace provides a convenient rigid mounting point.
billwill wrote:Only snag with using it regularly is that your radio set is likely to forget your memorised stations.

No problem with a period push button radio. :D

Note to self....must get some rubber boots on those terminals. :wink:
Attachments
Battery cut-off 002.jpg and
Battery cut-off 001.jpg and
Roger
S4 DHC
oldelanman
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Dorset UK

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:08 pm

Me too, i need to put rubbers on...
Attachments
image.jpg and
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
User avatar
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Location: French Riviera...

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:10 pm

I dunno the brand of That kill switch, my mechanician did it for me and i did not ask.
Attachments
image.jpg and
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
User avatar
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Location: French Riviera...

PostPost by: Jon.ford » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:35 pm

oldelanman wrote:I fitted a switch in exactly the same place. It's the ideal location because it's easy to reach from the driving seat in case of fire and the rear chassis tower brace provides a convenient rigid mounting point.
billwill wrote:Only snag with using it regularly is that your radio set is likely to forget your memorised stations.

No problem with a period push button radio. :D

Note to self....must get some rubber boots on those terminals. :wink:



I don't recall having that rear chassis tower brace on my sprint should I have.
Jon
You know you have a good car when your wife hates it.
User avatar
Jon.ford
Second Gear
Second Gear
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 26 Sep 2011
Location: Bottom of black mountain Wales

PostPost by: 69S4 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:59 pm

I've got a cut off switch in the same place - fitted about twenty years ago after I luckily got the car back undamaged after it was stolen. I've fitted it flush with the panel with just a small hole in the carpet so you wouldn't notice it unless you were looking. And no, I haven't yet covered the terminals. I'll get round to it soon! :)
Stuart Holding
Thame UK / Alpe D'Huez France
69 S4 FHC
Honda GoldWing 1800
Honda CBX1000
Kawasaki H1 500
Yamaha XS2
69S4
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Location: nr Oxford UK

PostPost by: oldelanman » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:03 pm

Jon.ford wrote:I don't recall having that rear chassis tower brace on my sprint should I have.
Jon

Hi Jon,
Yes I think your car should have the brace.
According to Brian Buckland "The bracing strut is required on all Elans from Series 3 onwards"

SJ Sportscars list it if you need to get one.......http://www.sjsportscars.co.uk/index.php?mod=10
Roger
S4 DHC
oldelanman
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Dorset UK

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:15 pm

Memorised whaaaat?! :mrgreen:
Attachments
image.jpg and
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
User avatar
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Location: French Riviera...

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:53 pm

Pistacchio sprint 72 wrote:Memorised whaaaat?! :mrgreen:


Ah, so sorry, my radio was changed so long ago the replacement is an antique too, but not original. :shock:

It has FM and a cassette player, but an electronic memory, which it loses if I disconnect the battery.
Bill Williams

36/6725 S3 Coupe OGU108E Yellow over Black.
billwill
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 4717
Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Location: London UK

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:13 pm

The k7 is not working anymore which make me sad... Any idea?
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
User avatar
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Location: French Riviera...

PostPost by: holywood3645 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:29 pm

They say 'Great minds think alike' and also say 'Fools seldom differ' Yes, I put my cutoff switch in the same place. Thought I was the first.
:shock:
A tip for the radio guys. Place a =/<1 amp fuse across the terminls. This will limit the current availiable to circuits, and if anyone trys to start it it will pop the fuse.

Also I put the switch in the Neg' (ground) leg, so no boots required.

James
Last edited by holywood3645 on Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
holywood3645
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: 07 Oct 2003

PostPost by: oldelanman » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:20 pm

holywood3645 wrote:They say 'Great minds think alike' and the also say 'Fools seldom differ' Yes, I put my cutoff switch in the same place. Thought I was the first.
:shock:
A tip for the radio guys. Place a =/<1 amp fuse across the terminls. This will limit the current availiable to circuits, and if anyone trys to start it it will pop the fuse.

Also I put the switch in the Neg' (ground) leg, so no boots required.

James


My switch is also in the negative lead so boots not really necessary I guess but it would look tidier with them fitted I think.

I don't quite understand your fuse suggestion....can you elaborate ?
Roger
S4 DHC
oldelanman
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Dorset UK

PostPost by: Quart Meg Miles » Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:03 pm

James is suggesting that you leave the circuit live, via the fuse, to maintain the radio memory but if any naughty person tries to use any circuit it will blow the fuse thereby disconnecting everything (including the memory maintenance) completely.

I'm not sure that interrupting the ground side is, er, grounds for leaving off the rubber sleeving, any switches left on accidentally will place the "disconnected" terminal at battery voltage though current limited by the circuit's resistance. Looks naked and amateurish without sleeving, especially in the vicinity of the petrol tank.
Meg

26/4088 1965 S1½ Old and scruffy but in perfect working order; the car too.
________________Put your money where your mouse is, click on "Support LotusElan.net" below.
User avatar
Quart Meg Miles
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 03 Oct 2012
Location: Barnham, W Sussex, UK
Next

Total Online:

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests