The Ultimate 1969 S4 SE DHC project

PostPost by: DaveAlmey » Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:38 pm

Sometimes you have to realise that it's time to give up.....that's the point I have reached with this 1969 S4 SE DHC project.

I bought this accident damaged S4 about 10 years ago, the driver lost the plot going over a rise, spun the wheels which sheared the rear driveshaft donut and backed the whole lot backwards into a dry stone wall.

I'm an aircraft engineer and this car has been done absolutely correct, (that's probably been my problem) without skimping or thinking of costs at any point.

So what's been done.

Bare stripped Lotus chassis checked and bead blasted and powder coated satin black along with all the main suspension parts. Running gear rebuilt with poly bushes, all new wheel bearings, seals, brake callipers rebuilt and cad plated by Classic, all new hoses and brake pipes by Goodrich.

Vegatune engine rebuilt with Big valve head overhauled by Cylinder Head services to take unleaded fuel, factory overhauled Delorto carbs, rebuilt fuel pump and new oil pump. Flywheel skimmed, new clutch. Gear box and diff rebuilt, all refitted with new mounts etc. TT driveshafts. Radiator recored. Steering rack overhauled with new track rod ends etc

Complete new body shell, with bonnet, boot, doors, bumpers and head light pods. All trimmed fitted and adjusted for a perfect fit, no crappy door gaps. All (except bumpers) primed and professionals refinished in yellow.

Bodywork refitted, new alloy fuel tank, 5 refurbished knock on wheels, new period tyres. New shock absorbers, all new wiring looms and relays (including pop up head light flash) all brand new lights. New clutch and brake master cylinders, new clutch slave cylinder

Dash panel replaced, instruments all serviced, new wiring loom, professionally refurbished Chapman autographed steering wheel with correct black horn push.