Street driven 26R

PostPost by: Famous Frank » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:13 am

My friend Greg and I were discussing Elan stuff today, 26R's in particular and a question entered my head. How many, if any REAL 26R's (not those made up from regular Elans) are driven on the street.

My thought was did many people in the 1964 to 1966 time frame purchase a 26R and then drove it on the street and may still be driving it on the street?

Does anyone own one that is still in the condition it was when delivered new?

Many thanks,
Frank
Famous Frank

67 Elan Coupe
66 Elan S2 SE
65 Elan S2
65 Elan 26R
69 S2 Europa
06 Elise
67 Barracuda
Famous Frank
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: elj221c » Sat Sep 21, 2019 10:04 am

Famous Frank wrote:My thought was did many people in the 1964 to 1966 time frame purchase a 26R and then drove it on the street and may still be driving it on the street?

Frank

Not quite being driven on the street anymore but the first driver I was a mechanic for bought an ex Ian Walker rally prepared 26r which had been bought from Walkers by his best mate and used on the road before it caught fire. This was around '69/'70. My driver and I took the rally stuff off and put it back to race spec. It was subsequently sold to Malcolm Rickets,
Roy
'65 S2
elj221c
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: tvacc » Sat Sep 21, 2019 6:10 pm