Epoxy vs. Polyester for Fiberglass Repair

PostPost by: deadline » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:49 pm

I'm the new owner of a pile of parts that if I can get them repaired and back together might someday be an S3.

Ahead of me is a good deal of fiberglass work. Some of it quite structural in nature. In the past, for small cracks and dings, I have always use Polyester resin. Given the nature of these repairs I sought the advice of some "experts" at the local air field where fiberglass planes are very common and their repair a frequent event. I have been directed to use Epoxy over Polyester resin. The reason cited was "it's 25% stronger". Not being an expert I thought I would ask here if there was a consensus.

So which is better, Epoxy or Polyester, for Fiberglass Repairs on a Lotus from 1966 made with whatever was used then?

for reference: https://www.epoxyworks.com/index.php/we ... at-repair/
Yes, I know it's a boat link but West System Epoxy is what the plane guys use too.
https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/ ... tepoxy.php
Last edited by deadline on Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
'65 Elan S1, '66 Elan S3, '66 Elan 26R
Deadline Dan
USA, East Coaster
deadline
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: Grizzly » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:34 pm

In my opinion it depends what your doing with it, if you are repairing a crack in a panel Polyester adheres to it's self as well if not better than Epoxy would stick to polyester so there is no point in paying the premium.

Epoxy works best as almost a glue, for example if you are glassing two moldings together or fitting bobbins or strengthening rods etc for this it's much better than Polyester.

Bear in mind Polyester won't stick very well to epoxy but epoxy will stick to Polyester very well so if you do use Epoxy you need to stay with it.
Chris
Grizzly
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Bud English » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:51 pm