Estimate DIY engine rebuild cost?

PostPost by: danbuoy1 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:16 pm

...I have looked on the forum and net but nothing recent, if there is apologies for asking again.

Bought a basket case +2 and trying to guess car rebuild cost. Hasn't moved for 30yrs, miles show 80k+ and engine semi seized. I thought block was standard Ford but apparently not.....I have lots of experience DIY but not with Lotus. Assuming everything salvagable, what sort of cost to rebuild engine, are spares relatively easy to find?

The gearbox and diff I assume are easy to do....?

Cheers

Paul
danbuoy1
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Foxie » Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:51 am

Are you planning on doing the work yourself ?

At 80k miles and 30 years stationary, you may be well advised to dismantle the engine completely, replace pistons, bearings, and timing chain. If the bores and pistons are good you might get away with a set of rings and bore hone.

If you can turn the engine by hand, it would be useful to move on to turning it on the starter and do a compression check. If that feels ok, you might move on to try starting it with new plugs and points.

If it runs, check the compressions again
Might also be time to dismantle head and check valve guides and valves/ valve seats. Replace valve springs.

Complete set of gaskets required.

All spares available from QED, Burtonpower

Bit of work, but reasonable expense for parts.

:)
Last edited by Foxie on Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
68 Elan +2, 70 Elan +2s
Foxie
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: rgh0 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:01 am

Hi Paul
Block is standard Ford 1500. Engine, diff, gearbox, rebuild parts availability is good and prices reasonable. Nothing to difficult to do if your familiar with working on other cars and there are lots of resources on this forum to advise if needed. Get yourself a workshop manual at least before you start dismantling things.