Fiberglass repair

PostPost by: tomjones20194 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:43 pm

Folks -

I?m a complete newbie with regards to fiberglass repair. I?ve been watching some videos and reading up on the subject and am willing to give it a go with my S3.

I have a few questions I?ve googled and searched and can?t find the answers I need.

1) What type of resin did Lotus use for the Elan S3? I assume polyester but any specific brand that I should use?

2) What is the thickness of the original glass mat and how many layers were used?

3) My S3 has spider cracking in the paint over the entire vehicle. I assume the underlying gel coat needs a redo. Did Lotus use tissue as a final layer or just gel coat? My car has at least two repaints so don?t know how those were done.

I?m open and welcome recommendations for brands, suppliers, specifics part numbers, etc for materials to use. I haven?t bought the supplies yet.

Thanks
Tom
tomjones20194
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: types26/36 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:04 pm

This is what you need .......the answers are all contained within.....
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Restore-Fibreg ... 0850455561
Brian
64 S2 Roadster
72 Sprint FHC
types26/36
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: 69S4 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:02 pm

I doubt you?ll get much in the way of US brands or suppliers from MW?s book but it will give you a good grounding in how to work with glass fibre. I learnt a lot from my copy but that was back long before the advent of YouTube so whether the considerable cost of the book is worth it these days is debatable.

If you?ve not done much with g.f. before the main thing you?ll learn when you start is how messy it all is. :lol:
Stuart Holding
Thame UK / Alpe D'Huez France
69 S4 FHC
Honda GoldWing 1800
Honda CBX1000
Kawasaki H1 500
Yamaha XS2
69S4
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Quart Meg Miles » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:10 pm