Throttle Cable

PostPost by: Tournesol » Sun Apr 19, 2015 5:15 pm

Good evening all,

I've tried to find previous post on this but couldn't find any relating to my issue.

The throttle cable on my 1968 +2 (UK drive) has gone loose from the pedal. On inspection it appears the spring at the other end of the cable (by the carburetors) is dead and the small piece of brass (sorry don't know the name....) holding the gainter in place is shattered.

When I pull the cable (the play is about 6-7cm) just before it goes through the hole by the brake and clutch fluid bottles I can hear something hanging behind the engine bay partition. Is that the throttle return spring there?

Here is the queries I have (bare in mind you are talking to a complete novice when it comes to mechanics):

1) Is the cable secured somehow behind the engine bay partition on its way to the pedal? If so how do you access this? Do you need to take the brake and clutch reservoir out? If not how do you guide the cable all the way down to the pedal bar link?

2) Is the cable secured on the handle bar linked to the pedal by anything? on my car it looks like it just sits in the grove on the bar link

3) Do I need to get a full throttle cable or can I just get the spring and gainter attachment for the carburetors end?

I am pretty sure you will have questions to answer my queries, so shoot and I'll try to give all the needed info.

Thank you for your help!

Tournesol
Tournesol
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: marklowe » Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:15 pm

Hi,
I think a photograph of your carburettor linkage would assist in understanding what set up you have and what has gone wrong,
You are correct in that the pedal end of the cable just sits in a notch on the link, and is held in place by cable tension / weight of the pedal.

Mark
marklowe
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Tournesol » Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:30 pm

Good evening All,