1969 Plus 2 Rebuild

PostPost by: Darek Brewin » Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:31 am

Hello Everyone, My name is Darek Brewin and I have been working on my Plus 2 for a little over 2 years now. I like to tell people that I bought a car that came in a dozen totes. I actually have never seen a complete Elan and have never sat in one beyond sitting on the floor of the shell. I stumbled upon this project on our local classified site and was brave/naive enough to take it on. User Dave240 is who I purchased this car from. I browse through this site very frequently and am impressed with everyone's willingness to share and collaborate.

IMG_4250.jpg and

In the first year I continued with disassembly and
sand blasted, powder coated and replaced the bushings in all control arms.
blasted, painted and rebuilt the brakes.
repaired my original frame and added reinforcements.
blasted and repainted the differential. Replaced the seals.
Upgraded the rear suspension to adjustable perches
blasted and painted the transmission, replaced all seals and gaskets.

IMG_4760.jpg and

In the second year, I assembled the chassis with all of the refurbished parts above.
Spent the whole summer removing all of the paint off of the body. This took months. The car was blue, green, yellow and green again over its life.
The body is in good shape with very little mechanical damage. I would say though that the fiberglass has dried out on the roof and hood. Both are in terrible condition with cracks everywhere. If I were in Europe, i would be looking for a new hood. One of the previous owners was a bondo sculptor. There was at least half an inch on the hood to make it flat again. The drivers front wheel arch was also filled in completely with Bondo. You can see this in the first pictures of the body when I picked it up.
I am glad to be done with the paint removal. As it is below zero C out, I cant do any more body work this year, but am looking forward to getting on with FG repairs and paint.