Plus 2 or Plus 2S

PostPost by: Diggo » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:02 pm

Hello everyone

I am new to Lotus cars and to this forum and would appreciate your opinion on the differences between the Plus 2 and Plus 2S. I aim to purchase a Plus 2 and have been looking for a little while at potential cars. I have seen this on ebay and according to the description it was manufactured in October 1969 which to my mind would make it a Plus 2S. Was there any overlap of Plus 2 and Plus 2S in 1969 because the pics seem to me to show a Plus 2 dashboard and no fog lights. Any advice would be very welcome.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/232125719828? ... EBIDX%3AIT
Diggo
New-tral

PostPost by: KevJ+2 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:52 pm

My car was manufactured almost a year before this car and is a crossover from Plus 2 to 'S'.
I cannot see how this car was made a year later and not be an 'S'. But who knows? No doubt someone will have an answer, but it does seem strange.
I beleive the Unit number to be 50/2173 but Lotus archives describe it as a Plus 2 :?:
KevJ+2
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: The Veg » Fri Oct 28, 2016 5:17 pm

If I'm seeing the factory certificate in one picture properly, it looks like number 2137. I have 2036, which is a non-S with a date of October '69 on the plate in the doorjamb and titled as a MY '70.
1970 Elan Plus 2 (not S) 50/2036
2012 BMW R1200GS
"It just wouldn't be a complete day if I didn't forget something!" -Me
The Veg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: trw99 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:16 pm

It looks like a refreshed car. M prefix engines were SE Stromberg, Domestic market for Plus 2S between Apr 68-Jan 71. It may have started off as a 50 and then left Hethel as a 50S.

Tim
trw99
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: jono » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:25 pm

That looks like a Plus 2 which I actually prefer to the Plus 2S (despite owning one). They seem more pure somehow.