Advice re Elan plus 2 please!!!

PostPost by: jinxy1608 » Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:33 pm

This is my first time on so hello to one and all. Ive always had a soft spot for the Lotus Marque since owning a blue Lotus Eclat 521 in the early nineties. The fact is I have been offered a Yellow Lotus Elan plus 2 originally registered in 1968. This car was reversed into a dry garage ten years ago and hasnt seen the light of day since. Its owner has recently passed away unfortunately. the car is utterly complete and appears original with about 50,000 recorded miles. The body appears good with no apparent fractures. From what i can see the car appears to be on its original chassis though the condition of the chassis is unknown. The car was owned by an engineer so it would probably have been cared for. the paintwork is good as is the brightwork, original wheels and spinners. The engine has not been started since it was parked.

Does anyone have any guidance for me as to what would be a fair price to give. This is not a money making exercise. the car is to restored and kept by me (once I have finished restoring the 1967 Triumph Trophy that I am halfway through doing).
jinxy1608
New-tral

PostPost by: Matt Elan » Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:11 pm

Welcome Jinxy
The plus 2 sunds like a gem; looking at the market I would say a complete car needing work and recommisioning seems to go from around ?3000 but one with a good body, chassis and paint, but again needing recommisioning probably is around ?4000 to 5000. Good runners go for ?5000 upwards, and very good ones seems to be anywhere between ?8000 upwards.
But a new chassis is now around ?2K plus the time and effort to replace it, so adjust the price to suit; and if the car still has its original chassis then it will probably need attention by now.
The 67 Trophy sounds nice - I restored a 1970 T120R (pre oif) a few years ago and its still the nicest bike I've had (and I still own and ride it :D )
Matt
Matthew Vale - Classic Motoring Author