Got some money - now need a car!

PostPost by: barleymagrew » Mon May 16, 2011 2:32 pm

Hi Guys,
I'm an absolute newbie on here so all help gratefully received. After many years I'm now in the position to buy a Plus 2. I've started looking and have found the prices all over the place. I've really got no idea how to value the cars. Are they going up in price? - or are some owners wishful thinkers. Please help.
barleymagrew
New-tral

PostPost by: slimromeo » Mon May 16, 2011 2:43 pm

ive found that you pretty much get what you pay for, just make sure you don't rush into things as there are plenty of cars out there. The guys on this forum really do know there stuff so if you see a car and are unsure they are usually quite good at pointing you in the right direction. hope you it goes well and enjoy your search.
slimromeo
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: barleymagrew » Mon May 16, 2011 2:58 pm

Hi there,
Thanks for that. What I'm unsure of really is what to pay? I'm looking for something thats tidy and useable. Not show winning but something I can use (and take my lad out in) and have some fun. What should I be looking to pay?
barleymagrew
New-tral

PostPost by: rocket » Mon May 16, 2011 3:19 pm

Theres a question...i think anywhere from 5k to 7k for a useable reasonably tidy example,for this you should get a reliable runner with tidy paint, tho far from perfect.I wouldnt think you can get much for less than 5k but obviously the more you spend the better the car shoud be.

Good luck and as already pointed out take your time, there a few rough examples you need to beware of.

Ian.
rocket
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: barleymagrew » Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 pm

Well thats good to know.
About ?8k is my target budget. If you know of any good ones for that price, please let me know.
Are there any decent books/literature to read up on about what to look for etc?
barleymagrew
New-tral

PostPost by: slimromeo » Mon May 16, 2011 3:35 pm