Hot rough running

PostPost by: terryp » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:32 pm

Hello
Now I've sorted out my starting problems I'm trying to use the car as much as possible. One thing I've noticed is the car seems to run really well when warming up all the way to about 80 degrees. (I have a 78degree thermostat) Then the temperature goes above this to around 85 to 90 degrees where the engine begins to run rough almost sluggish . The fan starts at this temperature.I also get some smoke from the exhaust that I don't get normally. Set up is : -
Dellorto Carbs tuned with Manermeter and CO2 meter (reading 4%)
BPR7ES Plugs (although I'm trying some BPR6ES at the moment)
New Coil, rotor arm , condenser , plug leads , caps , points
Engine was rebuilt by previous owner.
Anyone with any ideas ???????Should I try to get the fan to come on earlier to keep it cool??
Thanks
Terry
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: carrierdave » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:37 pm

Have you checked the water level in the radiator? It sounds as though you may have a leaking head gasket. :oops:
carrierdave
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: terryp » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:53 pm

Thanks for such a quick reply , I've just been out and the antifreeze level in the radiator is fine

Terry
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: ppnelan » Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:35 pm

terryp wrote:...although I'm trying some BPR6ES at the moment...

Perhaps this is a clue? Maybe you need to try a colder plug...
Smoky exhaust could indicate flooding?

:arrow: Matthew
ppnelan
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: 1964 S1 » Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:22 pm

I'm a Weber guy, I'd check the chokes.
Are they all opening completely?
Did the previous owner drive it after the rebuild?
Now I'm thinking you should check the timing chain marks too. One cam could be one tooth off.
1964 S1
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: twincamman » Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:36 am

perhaps a head gasket ----ed