Lee Weinstein's Elite

PostPost by: gmsnell » Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:55 pm

Hi all

Hope this is a proper use of the forum as I'm a newbie here ...

Long time Lotus owner (off & on). Currently a pair of Elans and just recently acquired Lee Weinstein's Elite. Unfortunately Lee's estate and then Hayes Harris who acquired several of Lee's cars and sold me the Elite had very little in the way of information, history, receipts etc. I did meet Lee briefly years back and knew of his Spyder relationship but not much beyond that.

I've noted that several of you commented on knowing Lee in posts on this forum. I'm doing the Sherlocking to try to add anything I can to the limited information that the Elite Registry has and that which came with the car. So I'd really appreciate any insights, anecdotes, history, ANYTHING that will help me know more about the car and the guy who was obviously knee-deep into Lotus.

Thanks in advance

Greg Snell
[email protected]
gmsnell
New-tral

PostPost by: StressCraxx » Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:54 pm

Contact Mike Ostrov. He is a member of this forum and long time Elite guru.
There is no cure for Lotus, only treatment.
StressCraxx
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: gmsnell » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:13 pm

StressCraxx

Thanks for the tip ...

I did my initial research on #1323 through Mike and the EWR. He had an entry for the car as Lee's back in the mid / late '80s but very little else. There is one hit on a serial # search through the EWR newsletter. Car obviously refreshed or restored by Weinstein prior to an Elite reunion at Lime rock in 2007 but I haven't much of anything before then.

Much more Sherlocking required ...
gmsnell
New-tral

PostPost by: lance54 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:23 pm

Hello Greg,

Nice to know the Lee?s Elite is once again in the hands of an enthusiast.