First Lotus for me

PostPost by: Vixensteveplus2 » Sat Nov 14, 2020 11:28 pm

Hi,
I am completely new to Lotus ownership and so new to this forum so a bit of backstory ... Early this year I was looking for another project and ended up buying a '71 Plus 2 S130 in April. At the time looking at various 60's classics it seemed to me that the Plus 2 was actually very underrated.
Slightly mad to buy it on Gumtree without looking at it in person, but it was a runner with recent mot and bodywork looked ok. It has lost its twincam at some stage but had a very good crossflow and bullit box in it.

So most of the rebuild since June has been taking the body off, reforming the accident damaged grp engine bay, rewiring the car, and thinking what engine/gearbox to put in it.
For better or worse I have gone the Syder Zetec route. I suppose this is where most forum members stop reading this!
I attach a few pics of how the car is now (November), obviously things have taken longer than expected ...odd that!

New Spyder chassis, rebushed suspension, cv driveshafts, Cos 4x4 diff, MT75 Scorpio box from Denmark, thicker anti rollbar and £150 ST170 engine. Also new dash, window motors and vacuum pods.

Still to get ... exhaust manifold, ITB's, Omex 600 and radiator.

It would be great to get involved with the forum as up to now I have had to work out things on my own (reinventing the wheel).

Steve (Berkshire)
Attachments
Elan dash wiring.jpg and
Worst part of the rebuild (so far!)
Elan body off.jpg and
Plus 2 body coming off June '20
Elan chassis 2.jpg and
Rolling chassis waiting for engine
Elan body and chassis.jpg and
Car still in 2 chunks November '20
Elan+2.jpg and
Car as purchased April '20
Vixensteveplus2
New-tral

PostPost by: rgh0 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:42 am

Hi Steve
Welcome to the forum. There are many Zetec conversion fans here and its certainly a cheaper route if you don't have a twincam. Lots of knowledge on what works with what you are doing.

cheers
Rohan
rgh0