classic tour companies

PostPost by: richgilb » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:45 am

I have only found one tour company that does reasonably priced tours in Europe. This is continentalcartours.co.uk

The others I find are clearly for people that I might have not much in common with - extremely rich people that can find 5 grand for a few days. Continental Tours at a couple of hundred quid per person is in my ballpark (but only just!)

Does anyone know of any other cheap ones?

Shame there is not one decent sized event by our members, as I am sure it would also be good value (no offence intended on your disposable incomes haha). The ideas always seem to fizzle out before going anywhere, with only 2 or 3 cars meeting up. And to be fair, the ideas always seem to be one person's agenda, without any structured research of members being conducted (I am a saddo market researcher).

I always look at them but I would only join up if there was 10 or so cars involved and I can see why people don't join up - they tend to look like 'come on my holiday' and for me it needs to look more like 'the annual lotuselan.net european tour'.

Rich
I am now an ex-Elan owner but will drop by from time to time with some suitably inappropriate comments.
richgilb
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: andyhodg » Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:15 pm

Hi Rich

I used Continental when I took my +2 down to Pau Historic GP last year. The price was reasonable, hotels reasonable quality - all in a good location. there where approximatly 5 cars on that tours. There was no defined route between the stops and each person determined their own route. I travelled in convoy with a friend and that worked well making sure we avoided toll roads. The cost was ?369 per person (assumed 2 to a car) and included 5 nights in a hotel, GP tickets and Dover - Calais return ferry.

I would certainly use them again.

Regards Andy
andyhodg
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: paddy » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:14 pm