Lotus Elan

I.T.Problem

PostPost by: john.p.clegg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 10:50 am

Dear All
I can wield a spanner and hammer but this has got me beat....I've had to use my work laptop to post this....
Having major problems with LotusElan.net,seems to lock-up via my Desktop,(O.K. on my work laptop)keep getting the Error message

Line 3789
char 8 (or sometimes 7)
error object required
code 0
url http://www.lotuselan.net/forums/

Can anyone out there help

John :wink:

P.S. I may need help via [email protected] if I can't log back on...
User avatar
john.p.clegg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 5682
Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Location: Manchester

PostPost by: paddy » Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:46 pm

These are all assumptions/guesses but say if any of them are wrong:

You're on a Windows PC (is it XP, Vista or earlier?)
You're running Internet Explorer (version 6 or 7 or earlier?)
It's been working fine on this computer since the site upgrade
There haven't been any recent software updates to the computer
You've tried quitting the browser and the problem still occurs
You've tried rebooting the computer and the problem still occurs
Other websites seem to be working OK
lotuselan.net is working OK, it's just when you go to the forums it complains

In that case I'd say the next thing to try is to go in to the Internet Explorer settings and delete all of lotuselan.net from the history, and also delete all cookies for lotuselan.net. If you previously had it set to log you in automatically, that setting will be deleted, so make sure you can find your password before doing it (or be prepared to go through the password reset rigmarole).
If you're not sure how to do the above, then it will be easier to give instructions knowing which browser version you have.

Paddy
1963 Elan S1
User avatar
paddy
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: 27 Oct 2008
Location: Woking, Surrey

PostPost by: Jason1 » Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:57 pm

Hi

We had a similar problem with my computer freezing on certain web pages, it would not load Facebook (the wife) and I had to go in the back way to Ebay. It turns out it was the Yahoo internet browser that we were using as it came as standard with our BT Broadband we used it and thought it was fine. We downloaded Google Chrome had have been using this with no problems for the last month or so.

We are running Vista and various internet security packages and thought this was the problem but in the end is was this simple thing :D

Hope this helps

Jason

PS John I will copy this to your email just in case
50/0951 1968 Wedgewood blue +2, 1990 Mini Cooper RSP
User avatar
Jason1
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex. UK

PostPost by: john.p.clegg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:50 pm

Jason (at al) am now in easy-peasey with google chrome,just have to figure out how to get my mail,bookmarks etc now

John :wink:

P.S. BT Yahoo stinks (can't even understand the 24 hour clock)
User avatar
john.p.clegg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 5682
Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Location: Manchester

PostPost by: Jason1 » Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:21 pm

Great to hear John.

I will tell the wife she was right again; they usually are :D
50/0951 1968 Wedgewood blue +2, 1990 Mini Cooper RSP
User avatar
Jason1
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex. UK

PostPost by: johnsimister » Fri Apr 10, 2009 10:16 pm

Buy a Mac! Always works...

John
johnsimister
Second Gear
Second Gear
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Location: Berkhamsted, Herts

PostPost by: john.p.clegg » Sat Apr 11, 2009 4:51 pm

Dear all

Am not going to have to buy a new computer,my old one works like new now....

Many thanks

John :wink:
User avatar
john.p.clegg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 5682
Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Location: Manchester

Total Online:

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests