Doing front wheel bearings at home in an Elan

PostPost by: MrBonus » Wed Oct 21, 2020 4:50 pm

I've never done wheel bearings on any car before. Everything I've learned about working on my Elan (and all cars frankly) has come from Google or the workshop manual and Brian Buckland's lovely addendum.

Is this something I can tackle at home with some multi-purpose grease and hand tools?

Given their relative importance to keeping my wheels on, I'm nervous, but wanted some encouragement and tips. Buckland's book made me feel a bit overwhelmed by it.

My mechanic is backed up and can't get to it for another month and I'm running out of driving season!
1967 Lotus Elan Coupe - Super Safety
2019 Tesla Model 3 Performance
1973 Ford F100 4x4
MrBonus
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: nmauduit » Wed Oct 21, 2020 6:51 pm

I suppose you are positive they need changing and not just re setting...

There is nothing fancy about this job, just take your time in removing the races (tapping through the hub from the other side, a little at a time and from all positions so as not to jam it twisted), also make sure you are tapping on the race and not on some protruding casting, esp. at the beginningwhen they are seated.
Then when tightening the bearings, there is a bit of a feeling to get, you may want to double check that after a few miles if in doubt (one can find descriptions of the procedure on the net, it involves tightening, turning the wheel, undoing, tightening again,undoing... then getting the bearing not so pressed that they drag).

go for it ! one side at a time.
S4SE 36/8198
nmauduit
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Craven » Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:18 pm

Very straightforward Job, the more difficult part is the removal of the inner races from the hub.
You need to makeup, one long one short drift supports, cut to the exact length that bridge across the race. I used a length of ½ inch square bar,