Rear wheel bearing fit

PostPost by: benymazz » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:53 pm

All,

Going to do rear wheel bearing replacement while my Elan is up on stands for engine replacement. One side was starting to give the telltale rumble during cornering so there's no point in taking it to the brink of failure. I'm going to do both sides as good PM. I've never done this job before but I have read the appropriate literature (forums, Buckland's book, the Lotus manual) and done just about every other job that can be done on the rear end. The only thing that isn't clear to me is that there is some mention of "excessive slop" between the bearing and the alloy casting, implying that there is an amount of slop that non-excessive and thus acceptable. This doesn't seem quite right to me but I figured it was important to ask for a clarification and dimensions if possible: should the bearing be an interference fit in the housing, and if so, by approximately how much?

FYI - I do have the appropriate tools for the job. I have a puller that is specially made for the bolt-on hubs that pulls evenly on the hub so as to not distort it. I also have a shop with a press that I can take the housing to for bearing removal and re-installation.

Thanks,
Ben
1965 S2 26/4623
Life is like a sewer, what you get out of it depends on what you put into it.
"I'm never gonna financially recover from this"
benymazz
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: CBUEB1771 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:49 pm

The inner and outer bearings have a light to moderate interference fit in the hub carrier. I don't have a dimension but it is likely of the order of five ten thousandths of an inch. The common practice is to heat the hub carrier a bit to minimize the possibility of the outer races picking up any aluminum on the way in or out. Without interference, the outer races are very likely to spin in the hub carrier.
Russ Newton
Elan +2S (1971)
Elite S2 (1962)
CBUEB1771
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear