reproduction steel wheel 14"

PostPost by: h20hamelan » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:22 am

Anyone with a desire to look into having 14" steel wheels

Seems I would prefer them!

Anyone else?

thanks

james
Born, and brought home from the hospital (no seat belt (wtf)) in a baby!
Find out where the limits are, and start from there
Love your Mother
Earth
h20hamelan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: GrUmPyBoDgEr » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:42 am

Hi James,

I'm not interested because I have 6" x 14" alloy wheels fitted to my S4 & have the original 13" steel wheels safely tucked away.

However I have some experience of 14" wheels regarding relatively poor tyre choice / availability.

You have not mentioned what rim width you may be contemplating & to which models of Elans it would apply to.

My guess is, it is the ever reducing choice of tyre availability that is driving your quest, so do you have a list of available tyres to fit the rim size you're contemplating.

Sorry, I don't wish to sound negative but from my experience the choice of suitably "narrow" 14" (even 15") tyres is also pretty limited.

Cheers
John
Beware of the Illuminati

Editor: On Sunday morning, February 8th 2015, Derek "John" Pelly AKA GrumpyBodger passed away genuinely peacefully at Weston Hospicecare, Weston Super Mare. He will be missed.
GrUmPyBoDgEr
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: h20hamelan » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:57 am

16 would make sense, who's the tester with ko's (then again, why would this matter?)

14 is better, 15 would be better still

I need new tyres for my +2 and this begins the debate for me. 1k into tyres or 2k for better traction/grip

if there were 16's. what size is Leno running

thanks
Love your Mother
Earth
h20hamelan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: theelanman » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:02 am

based on 175/80r13...you could ge a 185/55r16 which calculates to be the same rolling length.....
not sure how a low profile tyre would look tho'