Do you need to change Locotones when changing rear shocks?

PostPost by: Pistacchio sprint 72 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:15 pm

Hello,

Everything is in the tittle. Is it a usual thing to change the locotones when you change the rear shocks.

When I go on the SJS web site the good thing is that you can see pictures of what you want to buy (compared to TTR which lack pictures).
The picture of the front shocks adjustable set from Protech is very accurate and I can see that everything that should come with the shocks is there ( all the bushes are there!).

When I give a look at the rear dampers, they look naked, no platform, no springs... so you need to do your own shopping cart. As I am a noob, it is more difficult to buy the complete rear damper set up compared to the front ones which are proposed as a clear , neat and complete package...

Help appreciated in order not to forget anything.
Cooled down by CliveyBoy!
Pistacchio sprint 72
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: StressCraxx » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:57 pm

I installed new lotocones when I replaced the dampers. The rubber was cracked separating from the metal.

Regards,
Dan
There is no cure for Lotus, only treatment.
StressCraxx
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Bud English » Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:00 pm

I don't know of anyone selling complete refurbished rear struts. The naked damper you see is one part you'll need. Replace the others based on their condition. Have a look at Ray's on line store. He's in the US but it's a great resource as he has the parts manual posted on line.

http://rdent.com/manuals/index.html

If you're going to take this on I'd suggest you have a shop manual on hand. It's a good investment if you don't have one.

Run some searches on the forum for more info of rear strut rebuilding.

Every Lotus owner started out as a noob. You're in great company.
Bud
1970 +2S Fed 0053N
"Winnemucca - says it all really!!"
Bud English
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear