Strange Brakes

PostPost by: Galwaylotus » Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:06 pm

Strange one. I hadn't had my S3 out for a run for some weeks. As we have the annual WestRun coming up this weekend, I decided to blast out the cobwebs and polish the discs. I drove out six or seven miles getting up to speed and then applying the brakes hard. Repeated the cycle a few times and everything felt good. Then, returning home by a rough back road, the brake pedal suddenly went to the floor! I have a tandem master cylinder so that really took me by surprise. I reckoned I'd have to drive the last couple of miles (downhill) slowly and use the handbrake at junctions but then I pumped the brakes a couple of times and they came right back! The last mile or more everything was back to normal. When I got home I checked the master cylinder and found it still full, then looked at each disc and all looked fine - no sign of leakage or metal-on-metal.

Does anyone have any ideas? :? :shock:
Mechanical Engineer, happily retired!

'67 S3 SE FHC

See Facebook page: W J Barry Photography

Put your money where your mouse is, click on "Support LotusElan.net" below.
Galwaylotus
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: pereirac » Wed Jul 25, 2012 8:13 pm

Do you have a servo? it could be leaking...the rubber diaphragm can split?
Carl

72 Elan Sprint
87 Excel SE
97 Alpina B10

http://www.lotuselan.co.uk
pereirac
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Galwaylotus » Wed Jul 25, 2012 8:18 pm

Nope. Converted a couple of years ago and ditched the servo. It had locked up on me so it was time to go to tandem master cylinder.

Current spec:
AP Racing 0.7-inch tandem master cylinder with remote reservoir.
Steel braided (Aeroquip) brake lines at all corners.
GreenStuff pads on standard front discs.
Original rear discs and pads.

Can't imagine the brake fluid boiled on the few hard applications I made.

'67 S3 SE FHC

Galwaylotus
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear