Knock-On Alloy Wheel Drive Pegs

PostPost by: bcmc33 » Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:08 pm

I am embarrassed, as a so-called, experienced engineer by my ineptness. The so, so obvious is a password in hindsight ? of which I have a PhD. So a cautionary tale for the unwary.

While driving home two nights ago from carrying out 25 running-in cycles (as per Rohan?s advice) on my overhauled engine, I had a rumble from the rear LH wheel. I stopped expecting a flat tyre ? no flat tyre but the wheel was at an angle highlighted by the tyre being about an inch outside the line of the wheel arch. Pushing the wheel to the upright position I held the spinner which fell off in my hand.
Jacked the suspension up to get wheel off to find three of the drive pegs driven through the hub so that the chamfers only were showing and one missing. I carefully put the steel spare wheel on and drove the mile home.
On examination next morning in full daylight the location holes in the wheel were damaged for about 3mm into the holes with some rubbing on the location face.
Then the ?penny dropped?. I measured the depth of the drive peg holes in the wheel at 16.5mm. The drive pegs in the hub are 7mm of which 4mm is the camfer ? perfect for steel wheels, of course.

Now the bright ones among you will say ?why wasn?t longer drive pegs fitted ? he must be a right prat?, and I agree, hence the first line of this thread.

I now know that the usual suspects sell longer drive pegs, but not long enough in my opinion so I?ve bought a length of EN8 bar to make a complete car set with a wheel drive engagement of 11mm.

So the purpose of this message is for those with knock-on alloys and standard steel wheel drive pegs to take notice and do something about it.

Now why the wheel came loose is another matter. I?m putting that down to ME not doing the tightening job properly ? even though I?m sure I did.
For the smart arses out there ? the spinners are on the correct side.