Brakes- Assistance Please!

PostPost by: nico506 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:51 pm

Hi All,
I know this has been listed before - but i am nearing the completion of my 1968 S3 Elan and have been chipping away as and when I have time for the last 5 years etc and reached the point where I am frustrated such that I am making no progress in resolving the brake problems.

I have a new master cylinder fitted, new brake lines, overhauled calipers all round including brand new set to front.
Replaced the Girling Servo with Lockheed powerstop type and despite the wife helping bleed the brakes on the pedal .

I have checked all round for leaks - none are present.

I have a very soft pedal - no pressure on the discs when depressed and after numerous pumps - 10-20 or so the pedal firms up- albeit slightly at bottom of travel.

I am bleeding from the far caliper first and then working round each time towards the master cyclinder.

I am lost for further actions and is there anything I am missing here ????? :roll:

I live in Leicester West Midlands and only 15-20mins from Donnington - so would welcome a pair of expereinced eyes over the system and advise what I am missing here as I am at the moment racing to finish the car in time for Silverstone Classic.

Any tips advise or pointers welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Nico
nico506
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: memnon » Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:51 pm

My advice,

Is take the servo out of the loop, you can bypass is easy enough with a copper pipe.

If you can get a good pedal after this, the problem is the servo. You can go further with this technique, but start there.

Jason
memnon
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: neilsjuke » Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:49 pm

The outlet of the servo needs to be pointing up 30% to bleed think of the bubble in a level
Neil
neilsjuke
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: rdssdi » Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:21 am

Did you retain the original type fittings into the calipers?