Brake Master Cylinders

PostPost by: mark030358 » Tue May 31, 2005 7:59 am

Gents,
Can you get larger bored master cylinders for the Elan. I am having trouble getting mine to operate properley. Two pumps and the pedal is solid, the first pump travels too far. The pedal is not spongey as if air entrapment.

I have NO air, no disc run out, all pads and discs are new. I have a newmaster cylinder, servo, front and rear calipers (which are not loose) and I have no fluid leaks.

My thoughts are that I am not moving enough oil, hence can I get a larger bored master cylinder and where from?

cheers
Mark

ps any thoughts
mark030358
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: rgh0 » Tue May 31, 2005 10:44 am

Mark

There is still something wrong with your system as plenty of systems have been built that dont need a new larger master cylinder. Dont know what, but you must still be missing something. Are ALL your system components original and either new or in good condtion, have any been modified in any way, have the pads been bedded in.

A common problem is with excessive pull back of the pistons into the calipers due to changes in detail design of replacement pistons and seals over the years. A similar problem can occur with excessive pull back of the floating piston in the booster. Careful observation and measurement of caliper piston movement on application and release of presusre can help diagnose these sorts of problems

Rohan
In God I trust.... All others please bring data
rgh0
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: types26/36 » Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am

Mark,