Dellorto Over Fueling after cleaning

PostPost by: dave275 » Sat Mar 12, 2022 4:43 pm

Elan +2 135/S

Hi,
Hopefully someone can help or point me in the direction of any previous posts.
For a while now I have suffered from a misfire on acceleration, which is well covered on the forum. However having to take off my Dellorto's, though I would try too give the jets a clean before re-assembly. Mistake! specially as I have no experience working with Dellorto's.
Now the carbs are completely out of tune, main problem being the engine revs out of control. I have read about the cause of this somewhere on this forum, but now can't find the relevant posts. Have searched "over revving" etc, could someone point at the correct terminology.
I have reset the float levels to 17.5 which I think correct for 10gm floats.
Looks like 3 and 4 are over fueling.
I removed the jets to clean and examined/cleaned other items accessible on the top of the carbs. Assuming because they were fully screwed down it would be fine to do so and simply put them back (doohhh).
Would just like to get the engine running, so it can go off the be professionally tuned.

Thanks an embarrassed,
David.
dave275
New-tral

PostPost by: nmauduit » Sat Mar 12, 2022 6:11 pm

Would you have rechecked the fuel level in each carb after reinstallation? If all is back together clean I would first look along that line (float/valve alteration ...)
S4SE 36/8198
nmauduit
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: alan.barker » Sun Mar 13, 2022 10:38 am

Hi dave ,
have you also fitted an ALL metal Fuel Pump made in India because these produce tooo much pressure :oops: so flood carbs.
Alan
Alan.b Brittany 1972 elan sprint fhc Lagoon Blue 0460E
alan.barker
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: dave275 » Sun Mar 13, 2022 6:22 pm

Hi Both
Thanks for the replies and you both are pointing me towards over fuelling through the float chambers.