+2 Fuel Tank Vent

PostPost by: vincereynard » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:53 am

A while ago there was a thread about fuel cap leaks (again).
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=30029

I mentioned that my car had a aero style cap that was (allegedly) leakproof. I had assumed it was
a cheapo far eastern Ebay thing. However looking on the inside it is one of these -
https://www.newton-equipment.com/aero-3 ... r-cap.html

Which is a bit of a result . British By George!

However scanning through the site I found specific fuel tank vents -
https://www.newton-equipment.com/tank-v ... range.html

Would one of these be a good idea instead of the "unique" wrapover tube thing.
vincereynard
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: JonB » Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:18 pm

Hi Vince

I'm not an expert but I've looked into tank venting improvements. I can't recall if your car has been modified in this regard or not (but you did mention it doesn't smell of fuel any more so I guess you have made alterations). From what I've read these valves allow the tank to vent under pressure (say, when parked in the sun) and when the engine is drawing fuel but don't let smelly vapour out except under extreme conditions.

If your car has the "club mod" with a single thinner vent pipe over the roof line and a second vent connected to a tail screwed into the filler, you may find you get even better stink reduction by fitting an inline valve to the remaining "over the roof" vent pipe. I've seen one of these installed behind the O/S B pillar trim, above the level of the tank. No idea how well it works in practice, but has to be better than Chunky's venting?

Thing is, you need the club mod first. I guess that if you were to install two of these valves in the factory vent pipes without adding the tank to filler tail connection, you might have difficulty filling the tank.

Your Pal
JonB
JonB
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: mbell » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:38 pm